Examination of What

My life cannot be real right now.

Brussels was…quick. We were pretty much just funneled through government buildings. Parliament is rather elegant though, and we did get to hang with the president of the senate.
That night though…oh that night. At 3am I woke up to encounter the (unfortunately) second biggest spider I have ever encountered in my life. I didn’t even know how to say spider in French (now I do) and there is a point when insects are too large for me to kill without some sort of serious episode. That being said I stared at it for two hours and then retreated to the couch downstairs. Jean-Jacques got up for work at six and was nice enough to confront the creature…which of course was gone.
ain’t it always so?

Saturday I arose early so I could help set up for the annual Rotary event of my host club. I spent the morning moving benches and numbering chairs at a gorgeous private castle (complete with a mote and swans). After I was to go to my counselor’s house to shower and get changed for that night.
Now here’s where it gets good.
My counselor, his two children, and I were driving up the winding back roads to his house when she appeared to us. She was about 2 or 3, and standing right in the middle of the street with a can of Pringles…naked. I kid you not. No one in the neighborhood new where she came from either.
My counselor’s son could only offer, “C’est comme ça en Belgique”
“It’s like that in Belgium”.
The night ended with me sitting outside on a castle wall watching a play about Molière.

Sunday I think I may have been involved with a co-Freemasonry potluck…
The bread was really good.

I have to keep reminding myself that I am not watching a dry foreign comedy. This is my life right now.

2 responses to “Examination of What

  1. I hope that you learned the secret handshake at the Freemason bash! I think you may need that during the rapture.

  2. Oh my lord.. You described your experiences perfectly – dry foreign comedy.. laughed alot! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

